Notes on rev 4909

Describe your experience with the latest version of FreeOrion to help us improve it.
Forum rules
Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Zireael
Space Dragon
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 5:33 pm

Notes on rev 4909

#1 Post by Zireael » Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:11 am

- Is there a way to build outpost ships? I researched practically all Growth techs and nothing came up. And I can't colonize hostile planets with colony ships, so I'm guessing I need outpost ships to see how outposts work now...

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12247
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Notes on rev 4909

#2 Post by Geoff the Medio » Thu Jun 14, 2012 1:26 pm

I removed environmental encapsulation from preunlocked techs. If that unlocked outpost ships, then no.

Until someone updates the content, find a hostile planet and colonize it with a colony ship, then wait a few turns until it depopulates, and you'll have a 0 population colony still under your control.

Zireael
Space Dragon
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 5:33 pm

Re: Notes on rev 4909

#3 Post by Zireael » Thu Jun 14, 2012 3:26 pm

Well, I cannot colonize hostile planets with colony ships... that's the problem.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12247
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Notes on rev 4909

#4 Post by Geoff the Medio » Thu Jun 14, 2012 6:04 pm

Works for me...
Attachments
FO_Colonize_Hostile.png
colonizing a hostile planet
FO_Colonize_Hostile.png (49.33 KiB) Viewed 425 times

Zireael
Space Dragon
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 5:33 pm

Re: Notes on rev 4909

#5 Post by Zireael » Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:52 am

It doesn't work for asteroids nor gas giants. Did not think to check other hostile planets...

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12247
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Notes on rev 4909

#6 Post by Geoff the Medio » Fri Jun 15, 2012 7:02 am

Zireael wrote:It doesn't work for asteroids nor gas giants. Did not think to check other hostile planets...
Gas giants and asteroids are not hostile (for humans); they are uninhabitable.

Zireael
Space Dragon
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 5:33 pm

Re: Notes on rev 4909

#7 Post by Zireael » Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:11 am

Does that mean we can't make outposts on uninhabitable planets?

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4608
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Notes on rev 4909

#8 Post by Vezzra » Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:02 am

Zireael wrote:Does that mean we can't make outposts on uninhabitable planets?
You need to research the proper techs, at least for asteroids that should be possible. This has also been possible for gas giants in earlier revisions, but I think I remember that that has been removed. Maybe it has only been discussed...

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12247
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Notes on rev 4909

#9 Post by Geoff the Medio » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:15 pm

Zireael wrote:Does that mean we can't make outposts on uninhabitable planets?
At present yes. I think the UI will only show the colonize button for hostile or better planets. You could make an outpost with another species of ship that considers that planet hostile or better though, or invade with ground troops regardless of the ship's species. This probably doesn't make much sense in practice, though.

Post Reply