UI config

Describe your experience with the latest version of FreeOrion to help us improve it.

Moderator: Oberlus

Forum rules
Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.
Scara
Space Kraken

UI config

#1 Post by Scara »

Hello,

I have a question about the UI. You start out in the fleeting view with the sitrep, pedia and the fleet control to the left.
I first of all pull sitrep, pedia and the fleet control completely to the left side and adjust them to fit.
Now if you switch to the production section a second pedia pops open in the upper left corner.
That is something I was confused about since I started playing the game.
I sort of ignored the popping up pedia at production since I couldn't turn it of, just pull it over to the right so I have my overlapping sitrep visible.
Recent changes invoked a different behaviour in these two pedia. Before I guess all calls went to the pedia at the left, at least I was working only with it.
Now in the production view calls about planet survivability go to the upper pedia and calls about info on planetary bonus go to the left side pedia.
Switching from production view to fleeting modus especially in end game takes some time. I thought maybe taking this pedia double out might speed up the game.
In the design view pedia is there as well, but in this case it adds in very well in the UI, all in it's place and in my opinion no need to adjust anything.
Why are there two pedias in the production view?
Is this always the same pedia with different window arrangements or are there redundant resources running?
How do you manage your UI and how do you make use of the extra pedia?
Is it possible to turn one of them off and would that speed up things?