honing the Imperial Stockpile design

This is for directed discussions on immediate questions of game design. Only moderators can create new threads.
Message
Author
Ophiuchus
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am

Re: honing the Imperial Stockpile design

#16 Post by Ophiuchus » Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:19 pm

I mean the current PP in imperial stockpile should be accessible via scripting. E.g. as an empire meter.
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

Ophiuchus
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am

Re: honing the Imperial Stockpile design

#17 Post by Ophiuchus » Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:15 am

Geoff the Medio wrote:
Ophiuchus wrote:Any objections to making the stockpile value into an empire meter...
What do you mean by "the stockpile value" ?
I mean that scripting should be able to change the current amount of PP in the stockpile. At least for prototyping and for whatever we come up with in the future.

Or the other way round - Is there a reason why storing the empire's stockpile PP directly in the c++ objects is (significantly) better than storing it in an empire meter?
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12287
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: honing the Imperial Stockpile design

#18 Post by Geoff the Medio » Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:43 am

Ophiuchus wrote:I mean that scripting should be able to change the current amount of PP in the stockpile. At least for prototyping and for whatever we come up with in the future.

Or the other way round - Is there a reason why storing the empire's stockpile PP directly in the c++ objects is (significantly) better than storing it in an empire meter?
There is fully-implemented effect and scripting code for setting stockpiles, though it's presently set up to do so for a non-existant trade stockpile. Switching it to work for production shouldn't take long...

Edit: Done.For example, add this to Laefna to give empires that start with them 20 production stockpiled at the start of a game:

Code: Select all

        EffectsGroup
            scope = Source
            activation = And [
                Turn high = 0
                Planet
            ]
            effects = SetEmpireStockpile value = Value + 20

Ophiuchus
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am

Re: honing the Imperial Stockpile design

#19 Post by Ophiuchus » Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:47 pm

Wow, thank you :)
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

Ophiuchus
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am

Re: honing the Imperial Stockpile design

#20 Post by Ophiuchus » Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:48 pm

Ok, i need some design input relating to the waste indicator Issue-2029 in the aftermath of adding stockpiling projects to the game.

In the wasted resources browse window, we show waste, which currently will be below zero if you build a stockpiling project.

Q1: Does anybody oppose removing the limited input rule for stockpile?
Playing with unlimited input waste should always be zero. If we allow limited input then waste makes sense, but you also need to restrict stockpile transfer projects. So it would be probably more sensible to drop the limited input rule.
Note: I added an implementation PR-2066 which fixes input limits restricting stockpile transfer.

Q2: Which values should be actually shown - one (verbose) suggestion:
  • Output
  • Output Used for Buildings and Ships
  • Stockpile Input Capacity (if we keep input limit)
  • Output Transferred To Stockpile
  • Excess (if we keep input limit)
  • Excess To Stockpile
  • Excess Wasted (if we keep input limit)
But naming sucks and not sure if all values are necessary. Currently its like
  • Output
  • Used (Buildings, Ships, and Transfer)
  • Excess
  • To Stockpile (without Transfer)
  • Wasted
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

Post Reply