Revision: Money vs. Social Control

This is for directed discussions on immediate questions of game design. Only moderators can create new threads.
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin

Revision: Money vs. Social Control

#1 Post by Geoff the Medio »

This discussion was split from the tech icons thread. There's probably a bit of mixed topics in some posts that belong in the other thread, but I don't feel like going through and editing every post.

I won't go into the off-topic details of name-changes I'm pondering, but the icon for the resource produced by trade meters should suggest social control, political power or influence, because those are what it really gives your empire, regardless of whether it's measured in dollars, leaves, credits or no specific unit; or whether it's expended as a salary or by manipulating the press or hive consciousness or popular media or with spies...

Perhaps a clenched fist or marionette bar and strings of some sort?

Tortanick
Creative Contributor

Re: Tech Icons

#2 Post by Tortanick »

From what I can tell from Geoff's post taxes would be one of many instruments, not the goal. Say the government of A wants empire B to have a smaller military.

They could create an export tax throughout A on a vital rare component used for weapons.

They could buy that same component from civilian contractors in empire B at an inflated price.

In both cases its not about money its about control, I must say I am very intrigued at where Geoff is heading with this, trade/economics as an instrument of socio-political control could rather than increasing your income could be very fun :twisted:

I've been thinking about my proposal, and I'm not too sure it works (well it never did being too complicated), it looks more like a rebellion than control, ah well instincts, win some lose some.

eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus

#3 Post by eleazar »