How to contribute techs

For what's not in 'Top Priority Game Design'. Post your ideas, visions, suggestions for the game, rules, modifications, etc.

Moderator: Oberlus

elfstone
Space Squid

How to contribute techs

#1 Post by elfstone »

I just found this project, and i'm totally enthusiastic about it. I definitly want to contribute to it, and i have huge amounts of half-finished ideas in my mind.

Its sad, that the old forum has been lost, especially for new guys, that dont know, what has been decided.

So, i'd like to know, how much of the tech-tree has been created already. I read the research-information on the Homepage, but i couldnt find out, if there has been some techs already.

Since im a student of physics and really liked techs in MOO2, i want to contribute to the techtree in particular.

So, it would be nice, if somebody could brief me in what has already been decided, and how i can contribute.

Btw, sorry for my english, im german.

Nightfish
FreeOrion Designer / Space Monster

#2 Post by Nightfish »

Welcome to the forum. The lack of briefing information is definetly something we'll address in the near future. Keep a lookout for the Version Roadmap and the features board. That'll tell you what's been decided. Also we'll probably post specific threads for contributing of tech on the game design board when we deal with the tech tree.

elfstone
Space Squid

#3 Post by elfstone »

So, if i dont misunderstand you, there is no tech-tree right now? Not even collected ideas for one?

I think the tech-tree is one of the most complicated and most complex aspects of a game, so i guess it should take quite some time to plan it.
So, wouldnt it make sence, to start collecting ideas about techs already?

I know, that creating specific techs is quite hard, without knowing all the game mechanics, but the general ideas and roadmaps could be prepared already.

Nightfish

#4 Post by Nightfish »