Basic Outposts

For what's not in 'Top Priority Game Design'. Post your ideas, visions, suggestions for the game, rules, modifications, etc.

Moderators: Oberlus, Oberlus

Message
Author
User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Basic Outposts

#46 Post by eleazar » Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:35 am

Bigjoe5 wrote:
marhawkman wrote:question: how does that interact with Phototrophic?
I'm not sure what you mean... If a planet has a target population of 0, it has a target population of 0, regardless of the metabolism type of the inhabiting species
Or at least it will if we script the effects correctly...

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 5289
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Basic Outposts

#47 Post by Vezzra » Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:24 am

Ok, just for clarification: does current pop or target pop determine "outpost"/"colony" status?

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12675
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Basic Outposts

#48 Post by Geoff the Medio » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:10 pm

Vezzra wrote:Ok, just for clarification: does current pop or target pop determine "outpost"/"colony" status?
At present, neither. To-be-written content that defines "outpost" will determine the answer to that... I suspect current population would be the relevant number, though.

User avatar
marhawkman
Large Juggernaut
Posts: 938
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:34 pm
Location: GA

Re: Basic Outposts

#49 Post by marhawkman » Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:47 am

Bigjoe5 wrote:
marhawkman wrote:question: how does that interact with Phototrophic?
I'm not sure what you mean... If a planet has a target population of 0, it has a target population of 0, regardless of the metabolism type of the inhabiting species
This might have changed since the last time I DL'd a new version, but the last version I Dl'd gave you a target Pop boost based on star type if you had Phototrophic.
Computer programming is fun.

User avatar
Bigjoe5
Designer and Programmer
Posts: 2058
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:33 pm
Location: Orion

Re: Basic Outposts

#50 Post by Bigjoe5 » Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:53 am

marhawkman wrote:
Bigjoe5 wrote:
marhawkman wrote:question: how does that interact with Phototrophic?
I'm not sure what you mean... If a planet has a target population of 0, it has a target population of 0, regardless of the metabolism type of the inhabiting species
This might have changed since the last time I DL'd a new version, but the last version I Dl'd gave you a target Pop boost based on star type if you had Phototrophic.
Yes... And if your target population is still 0 after that boost, you will have a planet on which you can build an outpost.
Warning: Antarans in dimensional portal are closer than they appear.

User avatar
marhawkman
Large Juggernaut
Posts: 938
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:34 pm
Location: GA

Re: Basic Outposts

#51 Post by marhawkman » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:02 pm

The question was about what happens if you use an outpost module at a blue star(etc..) Phototrophic would add a lot to that location.
Computer programming is fun.

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Basic Outposts

#52 Post by eleazar » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:37 pm

marhawkman wrote:The question was about what happens if you use an outpost module at a blue star(etc..) Phototrophic would add a lot to that location.
Nothing. (Once the new scripts are squared away)
Phototrophic should allow population on a planet that would otherwise support zero.

User avatar
em3
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 611
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:51 pm

Re: Basic Outposts

#53 Post by em3 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:52 pm

I'm wondering if there would be a strategic advantage to having outpost instead of colony, and would the auto-upgrading (once a growth boost becomes available) to colony status be an annoyance.
[...] for Man has earned his right to hold this planet against all comers, by virtue of occasionally producing someone totally batshit insane. - Randall Munroe, title text to xkcd #556

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12675
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Basic Outposts

#54 Post by Geoff the Medio » Thu Jun 21, 2012 7:36 am

em3 wrote:...would [zero-population colonies growing automatically] be an annoyance.
The growth rate formula [edit]is[/edit] implemented as a fraction of the current population. In that case, if a colony has zero population ("is an outpost"), it will never grow, as 0 * finite_number = 0, regardless of what its target population is, or whether the target changes.

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Basic Outposts

#55 Post by eleazar » Mon Jul 02, 2012 5:53 pm

Has there been any other developments since the last post in the Outpost area?
I'm back from vacation, and i'll take a look at polishing up the scripting first.

The latest OsX binary is 4932, about 30 commits behind, but browsing through the commit log, it doesn't look like any of it applies to outposts.
EDIT: Never-mind, Vezzra uploaded a new binary just now.

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Basic Outposts

#56 Post by eleazar » Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:51 pm

OK, been messing around with it.
It seems that "Colony" type parts with a capacity of zero (i.e. outpost modules) don't work. You can build ships with them, and attempt to colonize a planet. The interface works up to the point where you hit the "colonize" button, but when you end the turn nothing changes. The interface still acts like you just hit that button, green flag and everything. No outpost is actually built.

For now i can get around it by building a "capacity = .000001" part, but that's not desirable, as on a decent planet that would turn into a colony with countable population.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12675
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Basic Outposts

#57 Post by Geoff the Medio » Mon Jul 02, 2012 10:53 pm

eleazar wrote:It seems that "Colony" type parts with a capacity of zero (i.e. outpost modules) don't work. You can build ships with them, and attempt to colonize a planet. The interface works up to the point where you hit the "colonize" button, but when you end the turn nothing changes. The interface still acts like you just hit that button, green flag and everything. No outpost is actually built.
I don't think I actually tested that case... I was mainly concerned with being able to colonize zero-target-population planets, and retain control of depopulated colonies.

Edit: Should be fixed in SVN. Hopefully one can colonize zero target population planets and/or colonize with zero capacity colony ships, and hopefully the ability of species to colonize is still respected properly. At present I think this means that species that can't colonize can't make any colonies, including zero-population colonies, even though such a colony has no species on it, but I think this is OK.

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Basic Outposts

#58 Post by eleazar » Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:35 am

Geoff the Medio wrote:Edit: Should be fixed in SVN.
Thanks.


Further enquiry.
It looks like now a colony or outpost can be built at any planet, GG or asteroid field. It is possible to limit the founding of colonies via scripts?


Also, i planted a colony on a lousy world and watched it die. The production of research started falling after population reached 0, but persists for several turns afterwards before research dries up completely.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12675
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: Basic Outposts

#59 Post by Geoff the Medio » Tue Jul 03, 2012 4:06 am

eleazar wrote:It is possible to limit the founding of colonies via scripts?
Don't know what you mean; could you be more explicit / detailed?
Also, i planted a colony on a lousy world and watched it die. The production of research started falling after population reached 0, but persists for several turns afterwards before research dries up completely.
That's expected... In terms of game mechanics, the research meter moves towards the target research, which was presumably 0 after the colony depopulated, but won't get there immediately (on its own).

User avatar
eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus
Posts: 3858
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: USA — midwest

Re: Basic Outposts

#60 Post by eleazar » Tue Jul 03, 2012 4:18 am

Geoff the Medio wrote:
eleazar wrote:It is possible to limit the founding of colonies via scripts?
Don't know what you mean; could you be more explicit / detailed?
For instance if i wanted to prevent the construction of new colonies on hostile/uninhabitable planets unless the "environmental encapsulation" tech was researched.

Post Reply