Labelling ships upon entry in production queue?

For what's not in 'Top Priority Game Design'. Post your ideas, visions, suggestions for the game, rules, modifications, etc.
Post Reply
Message
Author
AvdL
Space Krill
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 3:08 pm

Labelling ships upon entry in production queue?

#1 Post by AvdL » Wed Dec 23, 2015 1:48 pm

Playing in larger universes, many times I have made ships for particular tasks only to forget where they were supposed to go once production completed.

Scouring the systems to find where these ships were designed to go to is almost impossible.

Would there be a way to label a ship as soon as it ends up in the production queue? In this case naming a ship once it's been built would be too late.

I guess I'm not the only one to have run into this.

Thanks guys.

User avatar
MatGB
Creative Contributor
Posts: 3310
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: Labelling ships upon entry in production queue?

#2 Post by MatGB » Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:11 pm

Yup, I would love something like this, even something simple like queuing a fleet name or similar would be brilliant. It's not as bad these days when any outpost ship can be used to claim any planet but even with 3 turns delay I forget, same with troop ships &c
Mat Bowles

Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4657
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Labelling ships upon entry in production queue?

#3 Post by Vezzra » Wed Dec 23, 2015 4:44 pm

Even better would be if we could queue orders for a production item which would get executed once the item is finished (obviously only applicable to ships).

defaultuser
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 566
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm

Re: Labelling ships upon entry in production queue?

#4 Post by defaultuser » Thu Dec 24, 2015 1:39 am

I used to really have a problem under the old colonization rules because the colony ships took a long time to build. I'd have a colony ship complete, and wouldn't remember where it was supposed to go. I would sometimes have a "build list" in a text editor with where colony ships were being built and their destination.

AvdL
Space Krill
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 3:08 pm

Re: Labelling ships upon entry in production queue?

#5 Post by AvdL » Thu Dec 24, 2015 12:23 pm

Yes, a short command queue to be executed as soon as production is complete.

Might include aggression mode (hide or attack all enemies) and a location to move to.

The SitRep would then - later on- give arrival info and the player can take it manually from there.

This would be a nice addition.

Thanks.

Post Reply