Where do you want me?

Programmers discuss here anything related to FreeOrion programming. Primarily for the developers to discuss.

Moderator: Committer

m_k
Space Floater

Where do you want me?

#1 Post by m_k »

First of all excuse my english, it is not my first language and has indeed gotten a bit rusty, because I was in "read-only mode" nearly all the time since school two years ago. Since I found no introductory thread, only threads where people made their own, because they were also unable to find one, I thought I'd do the same.

I've stumbled across FreeOrion several weeks ago, tried it out and immediately liked it, the graphics are astonishing, some of the gameplay concepts I've seen are better than those of comparable games (at least those I have played, the MoOs, GalCiv, and some others I can't remember) and so on. The only downside are all those aspects that are still missing, like for example the AI, so I thought I might try helping to change this. As a student I have much more practice in all the theory behind it than in the real programing, so I thought I might try to change this by doing some actual work. (It is not that I can't program, I just never did it regulary.)

This is the first open source project I'm trying to take part in, so I thought I'd better ask before doing anything thoughtless. Where do you want me to offer my help, what do I need to know before I start working, with what shouldn't I interfere and whom should I ask such questions in the future?

eleazar
Design & Graphics Lead Emeritus

Re: Where do you want me?

#2 Post by eleazar »

Welcome :) Your english communicates well.

There's a good deal of introductory information on the wiki
But especially note this page of programming work. I don't see AI on that list, but that's also a need.

Personally i'd recommend that you first try something relatively small that you find interesting. IIRC svn access is usually granted after a few successful patches have been committed.