libtiff needed in FreeOrion / GiGi?

Programmers discuss here anything related to FreeOrion programming. Primarily for the developers to discuss.

Moderator: Committer

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
kroddn
Static Linker
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:28 am

libtiff needed in FreeOrion / GiGi?

#1 Post by kroddn »

Simple question: is libtiff needed in FreeOrion? If not, I could turn of tiff support and save some bytes and annoying issues according libtiff 4 on some linux distros.

User avatar
Geoff the Medio
Programming, Design, Admin
Posts: 12762
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 1:33 am
Location: Munich

Re: libtiff needed in FreeOrion / GiGi?

#2 Post by Geoff the Medio »

Probably you can turn it off: viewtopic.php?p=36350#p36350

User avatar
kroddn
Static Linker
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:28 am

Re: libtiff needed in FreeOrion / GiGi?

#3 Post by kroddn »

The config header on linux systems is created dynamically - no one would expect to hack a parameter there.

On my build-system I now just deinstalled libtiff, so the dependency should not be used any more in my static build.

Nevertheless, maybe GiGi should be extendet to support deactivating usage of tiff and/or jpeg by scons parameter (like it is already done for some other libs).

Post Reply