Code Tests

Programmers discuss here anything related to FreeOrion programming. Primarily for the developers to discuss.

Moderators: Committer, Committer

Marijn
Space Squid

Code Tests

#1 Post by Marijn » Thu Feb 19, 2004 8:27 pm

In the documentation on the site a rather strict code testing and peer review procedure is described. Is this still being followed? I must say that I am all in favor of these things, since they really do save time on the long run, but in my experience most loosely-bound online volunteer teams are kind of lax with them. Related to this, I have seen some people go "hey I would like to help out as a programmer! i started learning c++ last week!". Enthousiasm is always great, but are such people allowed to commit stuff to the codebase or is there a trusted/untrusted programmer system?

(Just looking around to make sure I do not jump into a swamp of really bad code if I decide to get involved.)

Marijn

noelte
Juggernaut

Re: Code Tests

#2 Post by noelte » Thu Feb 19, 2004 9:14 pm

Marijn wrote:In the documentation on the site a rather strict code testing and peer review procedure is described. Is this still being followed?
I can only speak for myself. I don't follow it by the line. I >look< on the code and try to get through all possibilities. I know there are people who try to proof that the code is correct (i learned it too), but i don't think we will get far this way. An experienced programmer should have the ability to produce good code.
Marijn wrote:I must say that I am all in favor of these things, since they really do save time on the long run, but in my experience most loosely-bound online volunteer teams are kind of lax with them. Related to this, I have seen some people go "hey I would like to help out as a programmer! i started learning c++ last week!". Enthousiasm is always great, but are such people allowed to commit stuff to the codebase or is there a trusted/untrusted programmer system?