buggy tech cost scaling after game restart

Problems and solutions for installing or running FreeOrion, including discussion of bugs if needed before posting a bug report. For problems building from source, post in Compile.

Moderators: Oberlus, Oberlus

Post Reply
Message
Author
Jaumito
Space Kraken
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 3:42 am
Location: Catalonia, France, Europe, Earth, Sol, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Virgo Cluster

buggy tech cost scaling after game restart

#1 Post by Jaumito » Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:23 am

FreeOrion v0.4.8_2018-08-23.26f16b0

How to reproduce:

1. start a fresh FreeOrion instance
2. click "Single Player"
3. in the Balance pane, set "Tech Cost Scaling" to, e.g., 8 (4 times the default setting)
4. click "OK" to start the new game
5. add a few tech items to the research queue
6. generate a few turns and check your research progress - you'll notice everything looks OK so far
7. resign the game, DON'T exit FreeOrion
8. create a new game again using the same parameters, Tech Cost Scaling should still be 8
9. add a few tech items to the research queue
10. generate a few turns - you'll now notice that tech costs and research times are quartered: i.e., the game uses the default settings (2) while displaying yours (8)

I haven't checked if the other balance scaling options are affected by this behavior.

User avatar
Dilvish
AI Lead, Programmer
Posts: 4768
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: buggy tech cost scaling after game restart

#2 Post by Dilvish » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:46 am

I think there is already another thread about this, or perhaps an Issue-- I think there had been a bit of progress in diagnosing the cause, but don't recall if it had been considered fixed yet.
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0

Ophiuchus
Programmer
Posts: 871
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:01 am
Location: Wall IV

Re: buggy tech cost scaling after game restart

#3 Post by Ophiuchus » Sat Sep 22, 2018 1:43 pm

There was an issue which was resolved for loading a saved game and i think it was closed after being fixed in master and release.. if it or a variant of it is still there.. meh
Any code or patches in anything posted here is released under the CC and GPL licences in use for the FO project.

Furthermore, I propse... we should default to four combat rounds instead of three ...for the good of playerkind.

User avatar
Dilvish
AI Lead, Programmer
Posts: 4768
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: buggy tech cost scaling after game restart

#4 Post by Dilvish » Sat Sep 22, 2018 8:18 pm

OK then it sounds like this is a related but different problem-- Juanito, please open an Issue for this on GIthub.
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0

Post Reply