Warden Shield at Zero

Describe your experience with the latest version of FreeOrion to help us improve it.
Forum rules
Always mention the exact version of FreeOrion you are testing.

When reporting an issue regarding the AI, if possible provide the relevant AI log file and a save game file that demonstrates the issue.
Post Reply
Message
Author
UrshMost
Space Kraken
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:32 am
Location: Great White North Eh

Warden Shield at Zero

#1 Post by UrshMost » Fri Nov 30, 2018 9:13 pm

Build 2018-11-25

On my map there is a warden that has 0 shields, over multiple turns, even though everything indicates it should have 15 shields.

There are no molecular clouds or any other negative factors anywhere close, and when you hover over the shield value it only shows the +15 modifier from the blackshield part, but the shield values stick at zero, including 'this turn', 'predicted next turn' and 'change'.

Out of curiosity I researched blackshield, but it did not have any effect on the warden's shields.
Windows 7 64bit, AMD 8 Core, 8 GB
Nvidia GTX 670 @ 3240x1920
FreeOrion Build: Latest Windows Test Build

User avatar
Oberlus
Juggernaut
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:25 pm

Re: Warden Shield at Zero

#2 Post by Oberlus » Sat Dec 01, 2018 1:04 am

Maybe you could open an issue at github, if you have the save files and a screenshot to attach, and maybe logs are also necessary.

defaultuser
Vacuum Dragon
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:15 pm

Re: Warden Shield at Zero

#3 Post by defaultuser » Sat Dec 01, 2018 1:48 am

Not the Warden, but I did see a case where a molecular cloud came through where a Maintenance ship was located. When the cloud cleared, its shields didn't come back. Unfortunately I didn't save anything from that game.

Morlic
AI Contributor
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 11:54 am

Re: Warden Shield at Zero

#4 Post by Morlic » Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:33 am

Thanks for the report, seems this is a bug introduced by moving meter growth from C++ into FOCS scripts. It is currently handled by species effects but monsters do not have a species. Bummer.

Github issue
Proposed Fix
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4747
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Warden Shield at Zero

#5 Post by Vezzra » Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:12 pm

Correct me if I'm wrong, but IIRC that change (move meter growth into FOCS) went in pre-0.4.8. As that is a quite serious bug, it should be an candidate for a bugfix release - right? In that case, can you tag the issue/fix accordingly?

Morlic
AI Contributor
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 11:54 am

Re: Warden Shield at Zero

#6 Post by Morlic » Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:13 pm

I added the cherry-pick for release label when I created the PR. If you prefer some other tagging, please let me know.
If I provided any code, scripts or other content here, it's released under GPL 2.0 and CC-BY-SA 3.0

User avatar
Vezzra
Release Manager, Design
Posts: 4747
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Sol III

Re: Warden Shield at Zero

#7 Post by Vezzra » Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:11 am

Ah, ok. That's fine.

Post Reply